Some of my Favorites

The European Championship football tournament has begun. (That’s soccer to my Americano friends.) Needless to say I will have a lot of time to read on the couch while my husband watches the games. (In between tending to my little one of course.) Though I will miss my sweetheart, time to read is every bookworm’s dream.  It’s what every rainy day was made for. This circumstance prompted me to write an index of my favorite books. I’m sure I’ll leave something out in my sleep-deprived state, but here we go anyway…

For Adventure:

Great Expectations by Charles Dickens

The Harry Potter series by J K Rowling

Neverwhere by Neil Gaiman

Oliver by Charles Dickens

The Wind in the Willows by Kenneth Grahame

A Wrinkle in Time by Madeleine L’Engle

For Drama:

The Grapes of Wrath by John Steinbeck

Into Thin Air by Jon Krakauer

Jacob Have I Loved by Katherine Paterson

Lord of the Flies by William Golding

Othello by William Shakespeare

A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens

For Family:

Anne of Green Gables by Lucy Maud Montgomery

A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens

The Divine Secrets of the Ya-ya Sisterhood by Rebecca Wells

Little Women by Louisa May Alcott

Matilda by Roald Dahl

The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett

The Secret Life of Bees by Sue Monk Kidd

For Growth:

Armor of God by Priscilla Shirer (I am currently reading this one as a summer Bible study, but I can already tell that it is a good one!)

Believing God: Experiencing a Fresh Explosion of Faith by Beth Moore

Book of Esther

Book of Ruth

Esther: It’s Tough Being a Woman by Beth Moore

God Is Not Mad at You by Joyce Meyer

Mere Christianity by C. S. Lewis

The Screwtape Letters by C. S. Lewis

For Laughter:

Bridget Jones’ Diary by Helen Fielding

Emma by Jane Austen

Is it Just Me? by Miranda Hart

Sense and Sensibility by Jane Austen

For Love:

The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald (Inspired by Zelda Fitzgerald)

Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte

Much Ado About Nothing by William Shakespeare

Persuasion by Jane Austen

Practical Magic by Alice Hoffman

The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger

For Teen Angst:

The Giver by Lois Lowry

The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

On the Road by Jack Kerouac

The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky

 

There are many more books that I have loved over the  years. This is just what comes to mind at the moment. So, if you are as tired of politics as I am or need a break from bad news headlines, grab one of the above books. You won’t be disappointed. Are you a reader? Please click on the comments above and name some good reads that I have missed!

2 thoughts on “Some of my Favorites

  1. A must read is the book by Nancy Reagan, about her life with Ronald, talk about a love story. Also Richard Paul Evans books are always a wonderful quick read. Enjoy your writings, keep it up in between dirty diapers, lol.

    Like

Leave a comment