Day 3 of Home Schooling or “Mummy’s Rubbish Sheep”

So here we are. Day 3 of home schooling is in the bag. I have to admit it is pretty fun. I feared the schedule, however, the schedule has actually become my friend. I include activities Ivy would normally do and use material from her school website. We adapt as we go along. It’s nice to have a guideline and the kids seem to like knowing what we’re doing next. I try to leave a lot of space for play, especially for Albert who has not yet been to school.

Today Ivy was leading our art time, a master class in junk modelling. Albert and I were encouraged to make whatever we wanted with our egg cartons, oat bar boxes, tape, glue, feathers. Albert opted for a dinosaur with a paper towel roll neck. His name is “Norman.” Ivy designed her dream soft play place with her egg carton, pipe cleaners, and cotton balls. I grabbed the cotton balls too which I glued all over half an egg carton to make a sheep. I thought it was clever and a little cute. Ivy said very casually, “It’s rubbish.” I was stunned! I guess we can’t all be master sculptors.

While Ivy gets full marks for honesty, we will need to work on her sensitivity to others! Tomorrow Albert is going to lead our music time. I sure hope he likes my singing. Gulp!

“A cheerful heart is good medicine…” Proverbs 17:22a (NLT)

Ivy’s soft play, my “rubbish” sheep, and Albert’s dinosaur, Norman.

6 thoughts on “Day 3 of Home Schooling or “Mummy’s Rubbish Sheep”

Leave a comment